reviews

 

“Felt just like an Italian during my week at Casa Leana

Reviewed on September 22, 2019

Had the best week at Casa Leana.

 

Everything was even better than we could have expected or imagined. The house was spacious, clean, traditional, comfortable and beautifully situated. The gardens and pool were peaceful, private and relaxing.

 

We were 2 families of four and everyone had the best time. Anghiara and the surrounding area are picturesque and the locals are very friendly.

 

Leigh and Di are perfect hosts and on hand if needed with suggestions and recommendations.

 

The next neighbour cooked us a delicious 4 course traditional meal that was an experience not to miss.

“Utterly Wonderful!”

Reviewed on August 14, 2019

We had an unforgettable stay at Casa Leana a couple of weeks ago!

 

The house is a million % perfect, the location is truly magical, and we absolutely loved it!

 

Ashencina (the neighbour) came and cooked for us one night and that was unreal – don’t not do that! The local Olive Oil farm and lunch was awesome (do not believe their ‘light lunch’ claims… food was endless. Di and Leigh were fabulous hosts to deal with both before, during and after our holiday. Can not praise this villa enough.

“Magical”

Reviewed on July 12, 2019

Incredible home! Can’t say enough about this villa.

 

All the past reviews are accurate, accept they forgot to mention how magical the home was for our family! Seniors to children, all enjoyed the many areas, interior and exterior! Make sure you look at the video of the garden, so peaceful. Already making plans for next year.

 

Thank you Leigh and Diana for making our dream vacation come to true!

“Fun, games and relaxation in Tuscany”

Reviewed on June 30, 2019

We had an absolutely amazing stay at Leigh and Diana’s beautiful Tuscan retreat. Their stunning property is set amongst vineyards and wheat fields which were the perfect setting to our photoshoot, organised to celebrate my parents Golden Wedding Anniversary.

 

Their private pool was a perfect temperature, house well equipped for young families and tastefully decorated. We loved their wine cellar with an honesty box polcy.

 

Leigh and Diana arranged for their lovey neighbour to cook a Tuscan feast for us. We spent evenings riding their complimentary bikes, entertaining ourselves in their games room or drinking Aperol Spritz on their terrace. We loved the fact that their bedrooms were set over theee floors, meaning that our young family had the top floor (3 bedrooms), my parents occupied the middle floor and my brother and his wife slept downstairs. We used the taxi service for a return journey to and from Florence. Some of our party enjoyed a morning Yoga class; arranged by Leigh and Diana, down by our pool. Thanks for a really lovely experience, we have already recommended your property to several friends.

“Wonderful Holiday”

Reviewed on May 21, 2019

I have stayed at this beautiful farmhouse a few times over the years and I thought it was about time I gave it a review.

 

Leigh an Di are great hosts, and nothing is too much trouble for them.The house is large and the decor is lovely, they have thought of everything, especially for the children, e.g. play room ,games room,bikes, and a beautiful pool set in lovely gardens with great views.

 

The location is amazing, and there are so many wonderful places to visit, and plenty of Pizza restaurants, especially in Anghiari which is a beautiful place and only a few minutes drive from the house.

I will certainly be going back there in future.

“Beautiful house, fabulous views”

Reviewed on May 14, 2019

We had the most amazing time at this beautiful property.  It is in a gorgeous setting and the owners have done a great job with the decor to make it feel really authentic but with a modern twist.   It has a really lovely feeling to it - a real home from home.  The garden is gorgeous too with plenty of space to play ball and various spots to sit around with the family or just take time out to lie one of the hammocks situated in the little olive grove!  The pool area is lovely too with plenty of seating for a large family and, of course, the obligatory barbecue!  Not to mention great views of the Tuscan countryside.  We visited some of the local restaurants and can honestly say we did not have one bad meal - all purse sizes catered for.  All in all a beautiful home very close to lots of pretty little towns and villages.  Lots to see and do - Di and Leigh are really helpful and they have a folder at the house full of ideas for things to do and places to visit.We shall definitely return!

"Absolutely brilliant.”

Reviewed on August 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The communication from Diana from start to finish was superb.

The farmhouse was perfect for us with 2 one year olds' and a three year old. The pool area and outside area was idyllic. The kitchen was the meeting place for the family and we enjoyed many a meal in there.

The local villages gave us the Tuscany feel and we were happy to just rest, eat and drink in the farmhouse. It was cosy and comfortable and had everything we needed and we loved the extra touches that Di and Leigh had influenced!

A great place and we loved it.

"Fabulous Villa”

Reviewed on June 14, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Fantastic 7 day holiday at Casa Leana.

Everything was perfect from the beautiful farmhouse, to the lovely historic Town of Anghari with the bonus of a private heated pool with breathtaking Tuscany views.

Will be returning soon​!

"A perfect house, in a perfect setting, with excellent hosts”

Reviewed on May 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Diana and Leigh have put a lot of care and love into ensuring that each and every guest that stays at the Casa Leana goes away with great memories and wanting to come back.

I stayed here with my family and another totally 8. Four adults and four children all of whom 3 and under. Everything that we needed and wanted was provided from high chairs to a fully stocked wine cellar, swimming pool and games room.

"Perfect getaway 🙂”

Reviewed on Oct 29, 2017 for a stay in Oct 2017

Lovely house in a small hamlet, really gives the Italian living atmosphere, very well equipped for a family vacation, everything is at the guests needs, quiet area and amazing gardens to enjoy in the Italian sun... out the way of busy traffic but not too far from supermarkets and local towns.

 

Whether it's a week of doing nothing and relaxing or sight seeing everyone will find something to enjoy during there stay, gardens well spaced out to enjoy the sun all day long, swimming pool is never in the shade.

 

The closest city of Arezzo is half an hour drive from the house and with train station easily to find you can get to Florence and other popular destinations for sight seeing and attractions.

 

The house has also a wide range of entertainment on offer from a wide range of dvds and game boards to a game room with pool and table tennis. And finally the owners are lovely and will provide you with all the support and information needed to make your stay as easy and comfortable as possible. Definitely will return 🙂

"Heaven!”

Reviewed July, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were a party of 9 - 5 adults and 4 teens and the Villa catered more than adequately for everyone. Glorious setting, warm pool, games, DVD's, so many choices where to sit, relax, eat. Ripe strawberries in the garden, wine cellar, Lovely bedrooms, comfy beds. Citerna (tiny, quiet, charming village close by) captured our hearts. I wanted to stay at Casa Leana forever.

"Dream holiday”

Reviewed on July 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

In May 2017 my family of 5 stayed at casa leana for a week and what a week it was.

Absolutely amazing from start to finish. Never have my 3 kids been so happy to just stay around the pool and in the gardens of a property without complaining of boredom. Every little extra touch you could wish for was thought of, from the pool toys to the fully stocked wine racks. The welcome basket to the kids gift bags to the recommendations to the extensive DVD & book library.

We spent one day in Florence and that was it, the other days were all spent enjoying the property and gardens. The pool was the best we've ever known, the kitchen had everything you could ever need. We could easily enjoy this place in the spring summer or autumn, and likewise could imagine a Christmas spent here!

Di and Leigh are the perfect hosts, from the moment I made my enquiry to the moment I left the entire experience was flawless.

I could talk about this holiday all day, it was outstanding and 5 stars simply doesn't cover it.

“Idyllic Italy!”

Reviewed June 13, 2017

This is a truly wonderful place. I wish I could keep it all to myself but as all the hundreds of other glowing reviews have already let the cat out of the bag, I'll let you know just how great we think it is! Firstly, it's really easily accessible from several directions. Florence is closer than Bologna but we couldn't get flights from there so some of our party came from Bologna and others from Rome. Bologna was a really easy drive, Rome a little longer.

Approaching Anghiari is something I won'f forget for a while. The magnificent walled town rises up as you approach on a long, straight Roman road. Winding down a typical narrow street into the gorgeous town centre, we were met by our wonderful hosts, Di and Leigh, who led us the short drive to the quaint farming hamlet in which Casa Leana is situated. The house is a wonderfully authentic Italian farmhouse, with everything done to consider your every comfort, whilst maintaining the rustic, traditional feeling which immediately makes you feel on holiday somewhere very special.

One of the things we loved the most was the many seating areas all over the house and garden which ensure that you will always have a sun trap to sit in, whatever the weather. The accommodation is arranged over three floors and although only one bedroom, which in our party lent itself more to the older children, has an en-suite bathroom, this was almost insignificant as the other bedrooms are all lovely and the shared bathrooms spacious. I imagine the top floor bedrooms must get very hot in the summer as they were pretty hot already but ours on the middle floor was just right. The basement bedroom was gloriously cool. The garden is wonderful. Arranged on terraces, there is loads of seating (I adored the hammocks looking over the olive groves and vineyards up to the hills) and the heated pool with tons of seating around it is brilliant. There are boxes of pool toys, garden games - so much thought has gone into keeping everyone entertained. There were lovely fresh strawberries for the picking just below the pool too. The lovely farmhouse table in the kitchen seats 10 but we used it for serving only and dined alfresco on the wonderful back patio with its 10-seater square table every night. Every night when darkness fell, we were treated to a show by the fireflies!

Di and Leigh could not have been more helpful and welcoming hosts. We thoroughly recommend their shopping service and it was great to be able to get on with our first day and night without thinking of shopping. They also arranged for our friend to have an art lesson in the garden, which she loved and we all went horse riding and to a nearby driving range. The golf and riding are adjacent to each other and the hotel they're part of has lovely coffees and lunches on the hillside terrace.

Anghiari was lovely to visit and walk round but just as close and probably easier to reach and park at (and with a tiny store and cafe too) was the picture-postcard village of Citerna. We adored it - sweeping elevated views, delicious strong coffee, locals conversing animatedly and bells ringing from the church. What a beautiful little traffic and tourist-free gem of a place! We even took a day trip to Florence and booked a parking in a garage on the doorstep of the Duomo, which was brilliant. We also pre-booked 'skip the line' entry to the Uffizi, another recommendation. It was an easy drive from Casa Leana and perfect for a day trip. We got there in an hour and 20 minutes.

The house has an unbelievable collection of DVDs for all ages - we think we counted nearly 600! in the spacious TV room and a great library of holiday reads too. The playroom is a dream for older kids with fussball, ping-pong and pool tables. For the adults, there is a brilliant honesty bar system and an impressive wine cellar too.

All in all, Casa Leana is relaxing, tranquil, spacious, well-appointed and beautiful. Its owners are hugely hospitable and have thought of everything to make your visit a success and

I can't wait to return.

Thank you Di and Leigh - we hope to see you soon.

“Beautifully relaxing”

Reviewed June 11, 2017

Stunning location.

Beautifully appointed farmhouse with plenty of room for everyone to chill out.

Loads of outside seating and terrace areas to enjoy.

Within easy drive of some stunning towns. Day trips to Florence, Sienna and Pisa easily doable.

Activities available to book : art classes with local artist and horseriding 20 mins away.

Thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Would recommend to anyone.

“Beautiful Farmhouse”

Reviewed May 11, 2017

We have just come back from a lovely stay in Casa Leana, Anghiari.

The farmhouse is beautiful with everything you need for a fantastic family holiday with great accommodation, games room, children's playground and a relaxing heated swimming pool with stunning views.

The owners Leigh and Diana are friendly hosts to help if needed.

The property is perfectly situated for visiting many places including wonderful Florence.

We will certainly be going back.

“Idyllic Tuscan retreat set in stunning countryside managed by a delightful couple.”

Reviewed October 20, 2016

From the very first email contact to saying our farewell the service was top class.

 

The property exceeded expectations from the images and description on the website.

 

A Tuscan farmhouse with stunning views and its own swimming pool run by a friendly British couple set in a working hamlet. The property is tastefully furnished and fully equipped in the kitchen - also had a huge collection of books and DVDs to read and watch.

 

We did several day trips as recommended in the visitors' book and all were really good. The highlight for us was the olive oil tasting which also included a delicious lunch and locally produced wines.

 

A lot of time has been spent researching the best places to visit locally. It's also a great base for keen cyclists.

“A perfect taste of Tuscany”

Reviewed August 24, 2016

I was lucky enough to stay here for my friends' wedding in June. Slightly off the beaten track but near enough to shops, it is an ideal Tuscan villa for a group of friends wanting to have fun, chill and take in the countryside.

 

The villa and it's grounds were big enough for us all to have our own space and yet we were also able to congregate around in the communal areas too.

 

The pool is heated (if needed) and the lawns/grounds perfectly manicured by the owners.

 

The owners, Leigh and Diane, were THE best at recommending restaurants, helping my friends with their wedding, taxi service, keeping the grounds beautiful and being a very good concierge service.

 

As I sit in my office back in Blighty, I often think about going back to Casa Leana...and I hope it won't be too long before I'm back.

“Just Perfect”

Reviewed August 21, 2016

I don't have much more to add over the previous reviews.

 

We were at Casa Leana for 2 weeks and we all thought it was perfect for our stay in Tuscany.

 

Great, characterful house with sensational views of the countryside.

 

Good base to explore main Tuscany highlights such as Florence and Siena as well as the pretty towns and villages nearer to home.

 

Pool was brilliant for my 2 kids.

 

Di and Leigh were great hosts.

“A superb find!!”

Reviewed June 25, 2016

We have just returned from a magical week staying at Casa Leana with 8 of our friends and our baby son, where we got married in the beautiful local town of Anghiari.

 

The villa is fantastic, full of charm, history and pleasant surprises! From the games room to the wine cellar to the extensive (and beautifully kept) gardens and pool, it really does have everything you need for a super relaxing and fun holiday. The house has spectacular views, and the peace and quiet, along with the birdsong really is a world away from the hussle and bussle of the UK! The (heated) pool is a wonderful place to be on a sunny day or evening.

 

Di and Leigh are superb hosts, and they work extremely hard to make sure you have the best possible experience. In addition to recommending and booking authentic local restaurants, and providing a great taxi service for those evenings you all want to drink Chianti Classico, Di and Leigh did a superb job of arranging our entire Tuscan wedding! From sorting out all the legal matters with the local authorities, booking the commune (local town hall where we were married) to arranging pre and post drinks at a local cafe/bar, a wedding cake, a 5 course meal in a great restaurant, photo shoot, chauffeuring the whole party around all day (in decorated car of course), they put many hours into every detail. They completely earnt our trust months before the big day, and everything was PERFECT thanks to them!

 

A final word on the town of Anghiari, it is one of Tuscany's hidden gems. A stunning walled town on a hill with amazing views, cobbled streets and a very friendly atmosphere. It is a great setting for any celebration, and a great base from which to explore Tuscany and beyond.

 

Thank you Diana and Leigh for such a memorable holiday!

“A perfect taste of Tuscany”

Reviewed August 24, 2016

I was lucky enough to stay here for my friends' wedding in June. Slightly off the beaten track but near enough to shops, it is an ideal Tuscan villa for a group of friends wanting to have fun, chill and take in the countryside.

 

The villa and it's grounds were big enough for us all to have our own space and yet we were also able to congregate around in the communal areas too.

 

The pool is heated (if needed) and the lawns/grounds perfectly manicured by the owners.

 

The owners, Leigh and Diane, were THE best at recommending restaurants, helping my friends with their wedding, taxi service, keeping the grounds beautiful and being a very good concierge service.

 

As I sit in my office back in Blighty, I often think about going back to Casa Leana...and I hope it won't be too long before I'm back.

“Just Perfect”

Reviewed August 21, 2016

I don't have much more to add over the previous reviews.

 

We were at Casa Leana for 2 weeks and we all thought it was perfect for our stay in Tuscany.

 

Great, characterful house with sensational views of the countryside.

 

Good base to explore main Tuscany highlights such as Florence and Siena as well as the pretty towns and villages nearer to home.

 

Pool was brilliant for my 2 kids.

 

Di and Leigh were great hosts.

“Superb”

Reviewed May 22, 2016

Fantastic location and wonderful house. Full of character and lovely rooms.

The pool area gives you brilliant views over the countryside.

 

Leigh and Di are superb hosts.

 

Who would not want to explore from here.

“A Dream Villa”

Reviewed May 12, 2016

Within minutes of receiving our tour of this beautiful home, we were jokingly trying to figure out how we could live there forever.

 

The owners have not forgotten anything in preparing their house for guests.

 

There are bike helmets, wet suits for adults and children if the pool is too cool, children's toys (indoor and outdoor), a welcome basket in the kitchen to get you started,...I could go on and on.

 

The house is very large and very comfortable for large groups and a gem for families with young children.

 

The nearby village of Anghiari is a very well preserved medieval village, yet not on most tourists' itinerary, so you feel as though you are discovering it alone.

 

There are a lot of day trips easily accessible from the house, but the house and grounds are so amazing that we wanted to spend some quality time there as well.

 

Overall, nothing but positive comments to say.

“Gorgeous Farmhouse in beautiful Tuscan setting"

Reviewed April 12, 2016

 

A fantastic holiday, I would recommend to anyone. In fact I would like to go back as my stay of one week wasn't long enough.

 

Di and Leigh provided exemplary customer service from my initial enquiry onwards. They even met us in the square in Anghiari to lead us to the house a couple of miles away.

 

The house over three floors is full of character, tastefully decorated and very clean.

 

For a party of several adults and children it was a very practical house (as long as you're okay with stairs) with three bathrooms a huge kitchen and rear terrace for al fresco dining. The games room was a big hit with the children and the extensive DVD collection in the living room a nice surprise.

 

It is a lovely house to spend time in. However, even better is the pool in the terraced garden for its stunning views of the Tuscan countryside, very special.

 

Anghiari and Sansepolcro were both lovely places to visit and Di and Leigh had some great recommendations for local restaurants and places to go generally. We did a day trip to Montepulciano and visited a local winery but spent the majority of our time at the pool as the weather was lovely. If we come again we'd like to visit all or some of Arezzo, Assisi, Sienna and Florence, pool time allowing.

“Traditional Tuscan Adventure

Reviewed September 11, 2015

We spent a delightful week here, just before Easter.

This is a traditional rustic building, set in a small hamlet, overlooking a Tuscan valley and the hills beyond.

The pictures show you the views and the countryside is lovely. 

We were a group of 13. The most they have had; but we were more than comfortable. We were 3 generations with Grandparents and 5 children. We were meeting up from England, Scotland and Dubai.

The accommodation is set on 3 levels, as is the garden: so lots of steps; but the old folks managed fine.

The setting is lovely and so are the owners – Lee and Di. They really do make sure that you have everything you need and are available or out of the way, as required. One of the reasons we chose this villa was that the owners are British: so there would be no communication problems. 
Before we arrived, Di sent numerous emails to made sure that we had everything organised and where to meet us. She also helped arrange a Police letter for a visa. She was like a mother hen.
When we met Lee at Arezzo station, he was not fazed by the number of cases and dealt with everything.

We made trips to Florence and the local towns; but spent most of the time in the garden, or the house and most evenings would have a mafia style dinner for 13, in the kitchen.

There were bikes in the shed (at no extra charge) and there were enough for all the kids and a couple of adults to explore the countryside. The area and the roads are quiet.

The local town of Anghliari is also delightful, with plenty of character and stunning views. The restaurant of Baldaccio’s is well worth a visit, very friendly and having the best pizza we tasted. Other trips to the local towns and wineries were also fun and the locals always friendly.

We thought that the kids would get bored; but they didn't - there is a games room and a huge DVD collection besides. Great to spend some time with the family, in the Italian way.

There are some minor things that one could moan about; but nothing worth noting overall - look at the pictures and details and there will be no surprises. We loved it here and our daughter has the view from the garden as her screen saver.

We would love to come again.

Neil & Agatha and The Greater Brown Family.

“Utterly Fabulous”

Reviewed September 9, 2015

 

Casa Leana is just amazing!

 

The house is beautifully furnished and styled in a typically Tuscan style but with every modern convenience you could want and with additions that we didn't even know we wanted before we arrived .... Wine cellar and library, for instance.

 

The garden and pool are lovely and attended to every day before you awake by the hosts Di and Leigh who could not do enough for us.

 

I would recommend a car , but the house is only 5 mins from nearest town.

“Perfect holiday home in perfect location”

Reviewed August 12, 2015

 

 

If you like Italy, forget that...if you like 5 star luxury set in a perfect location with great service then look no further than Casa Leana.

 

Every step of the way from booking to completing our stay was dealt with promptly and superbly by Leigh and Di (owners).

 

The house is set in a perfect location, authentic Italy. Close enough to great restaurants, shops and bars. The house is super, over 3 floors of old meets new, tastefully done.

 

Pool and gardens are wonderful but the views from the house make for a perfect backdrop. Every window looks like a perfect painting, this includes to toilet from the bathroom! 

Already booking for next summer if not before.

“Fabulous!!!”

Reviewed August 1, 2015

 

Beautiful traditional Tuscan house, with every modern convenience.

 

The garden and heated pool, with amazing views are maintained every day before you are even awake by the hosts Di and Leigh who regularly go the extra mile for you, nothing is too much trouble.

 

They have thought of everything... Wine cellar, games room, library, cycles ... The list is endless.

 

A fabulous place, highly recommended.

 

“Above and Beyond”

Reviewed July 25, 2015

 

Di and Leigh, Now that we are home from our vacation we wanted to write and let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at your home.

 

In particular, we very much appreciated your hospitality and how willing you were to go above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

 

Thanks again, and perhaps we will be able to visit another time in the next few years.

“Perfect Tuscan Retreat”

Reviewed July 19, 2015

 

Thank you so much Leigh and Di. You have created a perfect, tranquil backdrop for a wonderful holiday.


We stayed 2 weeks with family and friends. The house is rustic, charming and comfortable. Leigh and Di have worked hard and managed to renovate this lovely villa with taste and elegance. The kitchen and bathroom s are well appointed so there is everything you need. The bedrooms are beautiful with comfortable beds (although the upstairs bedrooms could use a ceiling fan in high summer).


It is set on a hillside with spectacular views across the valley and has a lovely garden and pool to enjoy it from. Leigh and Di come early daily to clean the pool and water the gardens, so it always looks beautiful.

 

We had an eventful time! (An accident ensured one of our party had a short hospital stay). Leigh was so helpful. He accompanied us to A&E, drove us to and from hospital and was a superb host.


It is a great location for trips around the area.

 

10-12 of us stayed over the time and it was very comfortable for 10-11, but a bit tight for 12.

“An absolute joy x”

Reviewed May 27, 2015

 

This was our third visit to Casa Leana and what a treat ... It is a lovely tradional Tuscan villa and has everything you could wish for.

 

A fabulous pool looking over the Tuscan hills..great kitchen and living room.. With plenty of DVDs for relaxing .. A great games room and bikes for a little touring ...I'd advise to use the outside eating areas as much as you can , it's lovely ...

 

Leigh and Di are great hosts and make your stay one to remember ... There are lots of lovely places to visit close by... Xx

“Wonderfully authentic Tuscany experience”

Reviewed May 18, 2015

 

This was the first time I had been to Tuscany and it more than exceeded my expectations. The property was delightful as were the owners, Di and Leigh, who carefully explained eveything we needed to know about the house when we arrived. 

 

We were a small group so the house was much bigger than we actually needed but I can't imagine it being crowded even if fully occupied. The property is a wonderful blend of superb original features and yet with all the modern conveniences and facilities you could imagine. Free wifi was available most of the time but with so much to see and do we rarely used it. The garden is a stunning feature of the property and we spent many happy hours by (or in) the pool or playing lawn games. All of the features of the property have been more than adequately described by previous reviewers. I would not disagree with the over-riding sentiment that this is a delightful property in a tiny hamlet ideally situated to explore the region. 

 

The nearest town, Anghiari, is simply delightful and we were pleasantly surprised that eating out was not expensive as we imagined it would be and generally shopping was also not pricey compared to other holiday destinations (or even to home!)

 

We are very pleased that we chose Casa Leana for our early summer break and have already recommended it to many of our friends as the ideal Tuscan getaway destination.

“Stunning Villa”

Reviewed March 04, 2015

 

A beautiful villa owned by a very lovely and helpful couple.

 

We had a great time and will definitely be returning!

 

It was a perfect location for a relaxing break.

 

We also enjoyed trying all the different pizza restaurants in the village nearby and a trip to a nearby vineyard.

A wonderful peaceful relaxing holiday!

Reviewed May 2015

 

Helen & Dan M. said...

 

A beautiful well equipped house in a peaceful location with all the home comforts you need for a stress free holiday.

 

The scenery is stunning and we enjoyed many hours in the garden and pool.

 

There was no need to venture much further for a relaxing holiday in the sun!

 

Leigh and Di were extremely welcoming and helpful and we all enjoyed our stay very much

“Fantastic Holiday Villa”

Reviewed October 2014

 

What can I say about Casa Leana and Tuscany? Well it was just one of the best holidays ever!

 

Starting with the friendly service from Di and Leigh who both met us in Anghiari and took us to the villa so that we didn't get lost. What a great couple who obviously take great pride in looking after their guests - from the breakfast hamper to all the useful information that they provide about the area. Great parking tips!

 

The villa itself was just perfect to house our family of 5 plus our chocolate labrador - loads of space for the kids to loose themselves in. They couldn't decide whether to swim in the pool (which was amazing in October), have a table tennis or pool tournament or watch one of the many DVD's they hadn't seen. On top of that they then started a family chess tournament having never played it before! I, of course, lost that!

 

The villa has lots of touches and I felt completely at home as soon as I stepped through the front door! Fantastic kitchen, extremely comfortable beds and a wine selection to die for! The garden was spectacular and we changed our morning cup of tea spot each day to appreciate it all.

 

The location was ideal and we managed to visit Florence and Siena both of which I'd strongly recommend. Breathtaking! Anghiari itself is lovely and has pizza/pasta restaurants and an ice-cream cafe that I will really miss.

 

I can't praise this package enough and I will definitely be telling all my friends it's worth a visit. Look forward to returning soon!

"Best holiday ever!"

Reviewed September 2014

 

Several reasons why this was literally the best holiday ever.

 

* The most fantastic friendly service from the owners Di and Leigh who couldn't do enough for us

 

* The most stunning location - the sort that every time you look up from your book by the pool you need to pinch yourself

 

* A house full of character and charm * A fully stocked wine cellar of hand picked wines by Leigh who REALLY knows his wines

 

* The option to have a the lovely next door neighbour pop round and cook you a fantastic meal

 

* A truly breathtakingly beautiful hilltop village down the road (Anghiari).

 

* And I got proposed to by the pool over looking some of the most beautiful views I have seen.

 

Now you can't beat that! Lovely couple and lovely place

“One word - fabulous!”

Reviewed August 2014

 

We stayed in Casa Leana for a week at the start of August 2014. We have 2 children and travelled with our friends with 3 children - so 9 of us in total with children's ages ranging from 11-17. We had a fabulous holiday in Tuscany and were so pleased we'd discovered Casa Leana. Diana and Leigh have renovated this wonderful old villa into a fantastic combination of traditional Tuscan farmhouse with all modern facilities - WiFi, dishwasher, washing machine, 2 fridges, TV, DVD, etc. There was nothing we needed that they didn't have - even down to a coolbox for keeping drinks cool down by the swimming pool. The location is amazing with the most incredible view over the Tuscan hills - you literally could spend forever looking at it. So much space as well for all of us to use - and the huge collection of DVD's and games room were a real hit with the children! We spent many happy evenings sitting outside in their beautiful garden, eating al fresco and enjoying the meals we cooked in the large kitchen. Great location too - we drove to Florence and Siena on a couple of days and enjoyed a lovely evening in Anghiari. As the title says - this really was a fabulous holiday!

“The perfect location for a relaxing Tuscan retreat, a real home away from home!”

Reviewed June 2014

 

If you're looking for a relaxing holiday, in an authentic and beautifully restored Italian farm-house, nestled into the Tuscan hillside, with access to some of Italy's most beautiful & bustling cities...then Casa Leana is THE place for you!!

We had the most wonderful family holiday and can't wait to go back every year!! It really is a special home with something for everyone - from the lovely open-plan kitchen that made dinner time a real family affair, the picturesque views that we woke up to every morning, the chill-time we had around the pool (under the Tuscan sun), a bit of family competitiveness in the games room...to our little adventures to Siena & Florence, not to mention all the lovely little hilltop villages right on your doorstep! 

The owners are super friendly & helpful....and have done an amazing job kitting the house (and garden) out with everything you need (including wifi - if you still need access to the 'outside' world).

“A Wonderful Holiday”

Reviewed June 2014

 

We stayed at Casa Leana for a week in June 2014, we really should have booked for longer! We've holidayed at a fair few villas throughout the years, if you took all the positive things from those villas, they are there at Casa Leana.

The owners Di & Leigh really want you to have a good holiday, they are there if you need them, really nice friendly people. After a long drive the shopping service, is very good, to arrive to a stocked fridge is a great start to our holiday. 

The town of Anghiari is full of great restaurant and the people are very friendly, even for someone who speaks no Italian, they are only to pleased to help.

On this holiday we had no plans, other than to relax and relax we did. Our general day was very simple, a short walk in the morning, most of the day around the pool, late afternoon on the lower terrace and the evenings in Anghiari. Time flew by all too quickly!!

It was a perfect holiday, we will go back and maybe next time for two weeks - we really should visit the surrounding areas!!

“Everything as promised -- beautiful holiday”

Reviewed June 2014

 

After reading over 40 descriptions and reviews of Tuscan villas for rent, I stumbled upon Casa Leana. Diana and Leigh have renovated this beautiful house to be perfect for a large family or group. Their website was wonderful and showed everything exactly as it is -- large comfortable rooms, beautiful views out of every window, games and yards.

 

They have stocked the house with all kitchen supplies, dishes and basics needed for our holiday. We did rent a car which was invaluable to us, though Leigh has a car available to rent for short trips. I enjoyed having my own for all of the trips to the grocery or quick day trips to surrounding medieval villages. The train is 20 -30 min away in Arezzo -- once there, traveling anywhere in Italy is a snap. During our 2 week stay, our family managed a night's stay in Rome, Bologna, Venice and Florence -- easy by train.

 

Di and Leigh so obviously care about this home and have put touches in everywhere to make it comfortable. They were very responsive to every inquiry and concern. They kept the yard and pool beautiful while we relaxed and let the kids run all around -- a big deal for city kids! The dishwasher and washing machine are modern, stove top is gas -- no problem with hot water -- never ran out even with 9 of us showering! There are lots of stairs in the home, so we were careful to give our older guests rooms on the bottom floors.
It was truly the trip of a lifetime -- we hope to return again soon!

“Simply perfect for our extended family!”

Reviewed June 2014

 

We knew we were in good hands from the minute Leigh collected us from Perugia airport.

A short 45 minute trip and we joined the rest of our extended family at Casa Leana. Yes I am slightly biased, I love all things Italian and all things with a bit of history and I fell in love with this beautiful villa at first sight. 

Every room is tastefully decorated, with the comfort of guests clearly in mind and the HUGE kitchen and 'al fresco' patio offer the perfect space for everybody to come together. We all had great fun in the games room too.

The weather was kind to us so we were able to spend hours at the pool, playing badminton and enjoying barbecues, all while enjoying the most fabulous Tuscan scenery anyone could wish for.

All this AND it's just short train ride from Florence, Rome and Venice - who could ask for more? We'll be back next year without a doubt.

“Perfect”

Reviewed April 2014

 

Casa Leana was such a great choice for our holiday. The attention to detail that the owners have given is wonderful.

 

We had a few rainy days but is wasn't a problem because the games room and dvd collection entertained the kids while us adults sat on the terrace with a rather nice bottle of wine enjoying the view.

 

They also offer vineyard tours with a driver which we did and it was a great day out. We are already planning to rebook next year so we can continue to explore the area which is so beautiful.

“We Will Be Going Back!”

Reviewed September 2013

 

We regularly rent properties in France and the UK and occasionally in Spain so we decided on a change and to try Italy – we - being two couples and two dogs. Ticking all the boxes was Casa Leana, so we made contact with Di and after a couple of emails booked the property, payment was simple and before setting off we asked a few more questions by email and we also received simple to follow travel details (which were very necessary). We also gave Di a shopping list, which she sorted out for us. 

Meeting Di and Leigh was straightforward and in a few minutes we were at the house. They ran through a few things with us, although everything is detailed within a folder. They also kindly gave us details for the vet within Anghiari including an emergency number. The shopping was all put away, in the fridge where necessary.

The house has been beautifully restored and fitted-out, we usually come up with something missing but not this time. Di and Leigh come by early in the morning, primarily to tend to the pool and also gardening – only because our dogs needed to go outside early, did I know they were there. They kindly left us some Fresh Tomatoes and Figs both were gorgeous! They are great hosts – there if you need them for help or recommendations and not if you don’t.

We used the games room a couple of times – had great fun and it dragged the competitive nature out in all of us!! We also used the bikes a couple of times and they are all in great condition. Locally, we were easily able to walk the dogs, the countryside is fantastic, and I took many photographs. 

Generally, we ate in Anghiari, the choice is extensive, the quality was excellent and the service without exception – friendly and first class – we also ate in Cortina, which was equally as good.

We did venture into the pool but being it was September – it was slightly cool!!! Speaking to Leigh, they are having a pool heater installed this winter; this will make a big difference and another box ticked!

We will be going back!

“Gorgeous Tuscan house in a beautiful setting, great for all the family!”

Reviewed August 2013

 

The swimming pool, badminton court, games room with pool table, table tennis and football table, push bikes, WIFI, TV and huge DVD collection meant that even the teenagers were kept entertained when we chose this place for a tranquil and relaxing break for the adults!

 

The house was homely, with everything you would need supplied and the bedrooms were very comfortable and beautifully dressed. You need a bit of energy to get up and down the garden, but it's worth the effort and good exercise, as they are kept well and very pretty. You will need to hire a car to get around or be prepared to be energetic on the push bikes! Well worth a visit!

“Absolute Bliss”

Reviewed August 2013

 

We spent an amazing week at Casa Leana with our 5 month old daughter and a group of friends. The house is beautifully decorated and equipped with everything you could need - ranging from a vast number of cookbooks in the kitchen, a floor to ceiling DVD collection and even a stationary drawer with Sellotape! The terrace attached to the kitchen made for fabulous al fresco dining. The gardens were enormous, full of flowers and fresh herbs with a large decked area and pool. The impressively stocked wine cellar with tasting notes highlights how the owners have really gone the extra mile with every detail.

 

Di and Leigh were incredibly helpful and approachable and will even stock up the fridge for your arrival for a minimal charge. Combine this with an idyllic view and an unspoilt part of rural Italy and you have something truly exceptional.

 

Our only regret is booking one week and not two. We will be going back!

“Exceptional - Can't wait to go back.”

Reviewed July 2013

 

We stayed at CasaLeana with friends in July.

 

This was the first time we had been to this area of Italy; what a remarkable first impression.

 

The house is beautiful and well set up, though the pool, gardens and badminton net had us spend most of our time outdoors.

 

It is close enough to amenities to be convenient without losing the feel of a country holiday. 

 

The owners were very helpful and had great tips when we decided we should actually explore a bit... It's hard not to want to keep this place a secret. It was fabulous.

“Breathtaking farmhouse on a Tuscan hillside”

Reviewed May 2013

 

We have just returned from from a weeks stay at Casa Leana and it was everything we had hoped for and more. The farmhouse is beautifully appointed and extremely spacious. There is a choice of five elegantly decorated bedrooms, a well equipped kitchen that is more then big enough to accommodate even the largest family (as any genuine Italian kitchen should be!) and plenty of living space. Each floor reveals a new surprise, whether it is a balcony, a quiet corner to curl up and read or a chance to learn a bit more about wine, there is always something to do. We utilised the library and DVD collection so much, that we never even made it to the games room - better luck next time!


The house is beautiful, but the real treat are the grounds. Four tiered, landscape sections give plenty of opportunity to either stay as a group or split up and go your own way. There is a well maintained swimming pool, a sports area, a veg patch and numerous areas to sit and eat - all overlooking the sort of Tuscan landscape that you have always imagined.

 

The owners, Di and Leigh, could not have been more helpful and the neighbours are friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return visit.

“Fabulous!”

Reviewed May 2013

 

We recently spent a week at the Villa celebrating our 25th Anniversary with another couple. We could not have asked for a better experience! The Villa was centrally located to some beautiful quaint small towns and just a train ride to either Florence or Rome.

 

Diana and Leigh were wonderful hosts, they were very accommodating with airport transportation, car rentals and even helped us arrange for a local woman to come an cook a spectacular meal at the Villa. 


The Villa has old world charm with modern conveniences. The game room was great for evenings of friendly competition and the media room was relaxing with a large selection of movies. The wine room had a great selection for our enjoyment.
I would recommend this Villa for couples and families of all sizes and ages.

 

There is something for everyone at this location.

“Wonderful stay at a lovely house in the perfect setting with the perfect hosts.”

Reviewed May 2013

 

This is the perfect place from which to explore Tuscany. The villa has beautiful gardens and a pool, so if you don't fancy going out for the day there's plenty to do. It has a brilliant games room for the kids, and a full set of bicycles so that you can explore the surrounding area without too much trouble.


The villa is just outside Anghiari which is a lovely little hill top town with plenty of bars and restaurants and stunning scenery. And for those of you who don't already know, this is positioned centrally to allow you to day trip over to the surrounding towns, including Arezzo Cortona and of course Florence and at a push Rome.


We arranged to be picked up at Perugia Airport by the owners Di and Leigh, who then arranged days out for us without the need for us to hire a car. It was such a relaxing experience being driven around from place to place, with their knowledge and personalities, by the time they dropped us off at the Airport on the way home Di and Leigh were no longer just our hosts but our friends too.

 

A great stress free holiday - one to repeat in the not too distant future.

 

“Another amazing visit to Casa Leana”

 

Reviewed October 2012

 

I stayed at Casa Leana 3 years ago and it was good then but Di and Leigh have since done lots more work on the property and it is 'top notch'.

 

The house is beautifully styled and thoughtfully equiped with things such as an impressive DVD collection which made for some cosy evenings in after busy days out. The pool, games room and views are great for relaxing when you are not out visiting the multitude of sights in Tuscany and Umbria. The local towns are worth exploring and others such as Florence, Sienna and Montepulciano are easily reached for day trips out.

 

Leigh and Di were very helpful in recommending places to visit, eat and shop, their local knowledge led us to some places we might not have found on our own which was an added bonus.

 

October was a good time to visit; the crowds had gone, the sun shone but the moderate temperatures made sightseeing a pleasure.

 

You would definately need a car to stay here but I believe Leigh and Di will be offering some 'chaffeur driven' breaks in future which would be ideal for anyone who did not want to drive.

 

There are a lot of steps in the house and the garden and pool are on quite a slope so anyone who has mobility problems should definately speak to the owners before booking to ensure suitability.

“A glorious spot with stunning views”

 

Reviewed August 2012

 

My Sister and I booked this holiday to celebrate a special anniversay with our Parents. The farmhouse and grounds provided all the space we needed to spend what was a very relaxing and enjoyable family holiday.

“A fantastic holiday in beautiful and relaxing surroundings in a wonderful part of Italy”

Reviewed August 2012

 

The house is absolutely lovely, on three levels, very spacious and tastefully appointed. A great place to hang out if not down by the pool or out sightseeing.

 

We had some lovely meals at the large kitchen dining table, outside on the small patio at the back and BBQ'd down by the pool too. The games room was a real hit and we had a couple of tournament nights playing ping pong, table football and pool. The DVD collection was very good too so also a film night in the upstairs living room.

For all of our party the high light of the house was the pool in the terraced garden, the walk to and from the pool will keep you fit but it's very much worth it, the view down the valley from the sun loungers around the pool is absolutely gorgeous, it would have been very easy to spend the entire week there.

 

The house is out of the way, about 2km from Anghiari (a car is essential) and I'm not hugely confident navigating in foreign countries so it was great to be able to meet Di and Leigh in the middle of Anghiari and then follow them back. They were extremely helpful and full of suggestions for places to see and things to do - their folder of suggestions was very useful.

 

In our week we visited Florence, Assisi, Cortona and Lake Trasimeno as well as more local towns Sansepolcro and Arrezo, all lovely and full of Italian charm. When navigating around I recommend having a large scale map as well as more detailed local maps as some motorway and road signs crucial for going in the right direction are for towns or cities off the edge of smaller scale maps.

 

By the end of the holiday we realised that week isn't long enough as there is so much else to see and do. Next time we'd love to go to Sienna, Assisi, San Gimignano, Pisa, Lucca and Montepulciano.

 

Food: Again Di & Leigh were very helpful with recommending local supermarkets, Coop in Sansepolcro is really good, think Waitrose. Restaurants in Anghiari, Sansepolcro were surprisingly cheap and the food was without exception fantastic (again Di & Leigh's recommendations).

 

It was a fanastic holiday, I feel we only scratched the surface of things to see and do so can imagine going back again and again.

“Relaxing tranquil retreat”

Reviewed August 2012

 

Di and Leigh have gone to a lot of trouble to equip this lovely house with comfortable good quality furnishings and homely touches.I can honestly say that there wasn't anything we needed that wasn't to be found in the spacious larder or utility room and we all enjoyed the games room, board games, pool toys, bikes and Dvd's. We really enjoyed the fact that we were in the midst of a friendly local community who were very welcoming.


Di and Leigh were fab hosts who were only too willing to help us out and recommend places to visit.

 

The balcony off the bedroom, loggia off the kitchen and garden terraces made for lovely spots to eat , enjoy a drink or just enjoy the view and the hammock was just the place to retreat to for a shady afternoon snooze - go, you will love it!

“Ideal place of a relaxing break away”

Reviewed August 2012

 

I stayed for a week with my husband and daughter and our friends with their children. The farmhouse way exceeded my expectations as everything possible was thought of.

 

The owners have taken great care to furnish and decorate the house and is just beautiful. The views from the upper part of the house are just breath taking. With 4 children and the high temperatures the pool was fantastic and well used, as was the games room.

 

The farmhouse is ideally located for 2 towns which we visited and enjoyed some of the restaurants there.

 

The owners were incredibly helpful and met us in the town to take us to the house. We took a trip to Florence and emailed Leigh and Di for help on how to travel there by train. Their directions were very clear, detailed and helpful and we enjoyed a stress free journey there.

 

If I had one negative thing to say, I wish we'd booked for 2 weeks and not one!!

“a beautiful holiday enjoyed by all!”

Reviewed August 2011

 

Casa Leana is truly a wonderful place. Di and Leigh are brilliant at making sure you have everything you need and want. We will definatly be back :)

“perfect in every way”

Reviewed June 2011

 

The web site is excellent and correctly describes what is actually on the ground when you get there.

 

Directions of how to get there were clear and a nice touch is that Di and Leigh personally meet you in anghari [ nearest small town ] to guide you to Casa Leana and show you round so you know where everything is.

 

Service was excellent as they appeared early every day to tidy up round the pool etc and to be on hand to deal with any queries.

 

Location was ideal being in a very small hamlet, so did not feel too isolated.The views from the house and garden are spectacular and the surrounding area quiet and easy to get around by car to see the sights.

 

The house is extremely well suited to larger families/groups as its large and you can do your own thing and not always having to be in each others way. An excellent games room,plenty of mountain bikes and a decent sized pool means that you dont have to go out every day but could quite easily stay at the house a lot the time.


There is a local golf course [short 9 holes] which appears to be deserted all the time and is good value, you will never find it without Leigh pointing you in the right direction.


Its a definite plus point that the owners are nearby and on hand as they were very helpful in arranging a physio at short notice to deal with some urgent treatment.

 

Very difficult to find fault with this holiday and can recommend Casa Leana to anyone who wants peace and quiet but within easy driving distance of Florence and Sienna etc.

“Excellent house with fantastic facilities in a brilliant location”

Reviewed August 2011

 

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Leana. The house is positioned in a small village close to the walled mountain town of anghiari.

 

The house is beautifully decorated with a good size kitchen and 4 good double bedrooms. There is a large lounge with TV and DVD player. There is a cellar with table tennis, table football and pool, ideal for the odd wet day. In addition there are 6 bikes for use by guests. The pool and garden are close by and tended to every day by Leigh and Di.

 

The village has lovely views over the countryside and also close to other lovely towns eg arezzo, Sansopolcro and Cortona.

 

There are several excellent restaurants in the vicinity, and if you want one of the Italian neighbours will come and cook for you. Fantastic place!

“A really lovely house in a great location, superbly equipped”

Reviewed August 2012

 

We had a really lovely week in this well equipped house which was furnished to a high standard.

 

The weather was hot and we really appreciated the fans in every bedroom.

 

It had everything to keep our teens interested, internet access which is absolutely essential for that age group, a great DVD library, the games room was fantastic as well as the lovely pool and use of the bikes.

 

The owners Di and Leigh were fabulous-welcoming, attentive without being intrusive and very helpful.

 

The location was great ideal for trips to arrezzo, Asissi etc.We got what we hoped we had booked and more! Definitely recommended.

“Charming comfortable house in a lovely peaceful location”

Reviewed June 2011

 

Nine of us in an extended family group (all adults) stayed here for two weeks in June 2011. 

We loved the house with its different levels and spacious rooms. Great kitchen, good bedrooms, lots of separate living space, a tranquil little balcony off the 4th bedroom with opportunities to watch the redstarts at close quarters. It wasn't on our original wishlist but the games room was terrific and got great use across the generations. We also used the bikes a couple of times. The house has been restored and decorated beautifully and thoughtfully. Theres's a feeling of uncomplicated Tuscan class with tiled floors, beamed ceilings and good solid furniture. 

The garden has some good places to sit and relax, the pool isn't big but it's perfectly ok and the views are lovely. The big table by the pool is a great place to eat and perfect for the barbecue but it can seem a long way from the house when you're taking everything back up the garden afterwards! 

The house is well situated for getting around to other places. The local town of Anghiari is a delight and there are some typically beautiful hill villages around such as Monterchi and Monte Santa Maria Tiberina. Further afield Cortona and Arezzo are easy to get to as are the beaches on Lake Trasimeno. Restaurants are perhaps not as abundant in some other parts of Tuscany but we found several good places to eat out. 

Di and Leigh, the owners, are hugely responsive hosts, they were in early every morning to clean the pool and look after the garden. Always ready to help with suggestions and respond to requests they were particularly valuable in arranging an emergency dentist appointment. 

All in all we had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing holiday and I would recommend it to anybody.

“A wonderful, magical place that made for an experience we will never forget”

Reviewed September 2011

 

What a wonderful stay at Casa Leana! Di and Leigh could not have made us feel more comfortable and at home than they did! We arrived on a Sunday, where they met us in the town of Anghari, in the town square so we could follow them in and not get lost. This was very much appreciated after the long drive from the Amalfi Coast! Getting to the property was easy, and what awaited us was wonderful. The welcome basket of food and drink was a very nice touch!

 

We had plans to visit wonderful points of interest while there, as we did so, but we also spent a day at the farmhouse, because we loved it so much!

 

We cooked in everynight in the beautiful HUGE kitchen and sat out on the lovely terrace that adjoined it! All the bedrooms were very comfy and clean and beautifully decorated, with breathtaking views of the countryside. We enjoyed a night in the games room, although it was a bit musty and just needed a dehumidifier to solve that.

 

For anyone that loves cooking, the owners have an extensive array of cookbooks, that we used on more than one occasion.

 

Our new home for the week was great for touring the area! Make sure you go to the website and check out the "Days Out" section...very good and fairly accurate in terms of time to get there. Never worry about concerns if you decide to stay here...the owners were out every morning cleaning the pool and watering the plants if you needed to talk to them. A great place to stay!!

“relaxing rural retreat”

Reviewed August 2012

 

Casa Leana provides everything needed for a relaxing, peaceful holiday with wonderful views from the windows, house and garden terraces and the pool area.

 

Di and Leigh have gone to a lot of trouble to furnish and equip the house and there was everything needed and more besides to entertain us and allow us to self cater or picnic if we didn't feel like venturing far.They were also wonderfully helpful when we had need of the Dr and our friends hire car "died"
The games room, pool and bikes were well used as was the hammock for shady afternoon snoozes.

 

Leigh had provided a fab wine cellar for us to try local wines at very reasonable prices.

 

The local area has some gems to visit-Sansepolcro old town comes alive esp on a Friday evening and a strill around the old town of Anghiari shouldn't be missed. Further afield Assissi, Cortona,Arezzo and Lake Trasimeno are all worth a day out and Casa Leana makes a fab place to return to for a cooling dip followed by wonderful sunsets.

Created by Leigh Wright & Diana Flanagan - Owners Casa Leana

Address: Barliano,  n°116 - 52031 Anghiari Ar                                                                              

Photography by Rob Moles

©  Copyright 2018. All rights reserved.